5 Books Like A Gentleman In Moscow

In the book world, there might be no better seal of approval than a recommendation from Bill Gates.

On his personal website Gatesnotes.com, Gates wrote a raving review for A Gentleman in Moscow.

Gates said “A Gentleman in Moscow is an amazing story because it manages to be a little bit of everything. There’s fantastical romance, politics, espionage, parenthood, and poetry… Even if Russia isn’t on your must-visit list, I think everyone can enjoy Towle’s trip to Moscow this summer.”
If you are looking for some books like A Gentleman in Moscow, look no further.

Here are some great books to check out. These books highlight great historical fiction as well as a few books that take place in Russia.

Sale
A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Amor Towles (Author) - Nicholas Guy Smith (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 09/06/2016 (Publication Date) - Penguin Audio (Publisher)

5 Books Like A Gentleman in Moscow

A Gentleman in Moscow has many wonderful qualities. It has a very charming character in Rostov. The book is full of wisdom and insight. In curating the list below, I tried to look for similar qualities that A Gentleman in Moscow possesses.

1. The Last Green Valley by Mark Sullivan

First on the list is The Last Green Valley by Mark Sullivan. The first Mark Sullivan book I read was Beneath a Scarlet Sky, which is a masterful historical fiction based on a true story during World War II in Italy.

In The Last Green Valley, Sullivan again tells a tale set during the second world war. This time it follows a family in Ukraine who wants to leave the country because of Stalin.

Sale
The Last Green Valley: A Novel
  • The Last Green Valley: A Novel
  • Lake Union Publishing
  • ABIS BOOK
  • Hardcover Book
  • Sullivan, Mark (Author)

2. Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

Rules of Civility was published in 2011. This is the first book by Amor Towles. Although not as popular as A Gentleman in Paris, it is still a wonderful book. If you liked the writing style of A Gentleman in Paris, then you need to check out this book.

Sale
Rules of Civility: A Novel
  • Towles, Amor (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 368 Pages - 06/26/2012 (Publication Date) - Penguin Books (Publisher)

3. Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

This historical fiction tells a fascinating story of a family from Korea who immigrates to Japan. It is a family saga book, which means it follows the family over generations (4 generations to be exact).

Pachinko is the name for a Japanese arcade, which low-wage Korean workers tend to be employed. The book explores the relationship between the Japanese and Korean immigrants to Japan.

Sale
Pachinko
  • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW TOP TEN OF THE YEAR * NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017 *A USA TODAY TOP TEN OF 2017
  • Roxane Gay's Favorite Book of 2017, Washington Post
  • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER * USA TODAY BESTSELLER
  • In this gorgeous, page-turning saga, four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family fight to control their destiny in 20th-century Japan, exiled from a home they never knew.
  • Lee, Min Jin (Author)

4. News of the World by Paulette Jiles

News of the World takes place in post-Cival War America. A man named Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd is given money to take a young girl who had been held captive by a band of the Kiowa tribe. This is a complex historical fiction that deals with many deep themes.

Sale
The Cellist: A Novel (Gabriel Allon, 21)
  • Hardcover Book
  • Silva, Daniel (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 400 Pages - 07/13/2021 (Publication Date) - Harper (Publisher)

5. A Train to Moscow by Elena Gorokhova

As you can probably glean from the title, A Train to Moscow takes place in Russia (technically, the Soviet Union). It is set in the years after World War II. It is beautifully written and is told in a very unique manner. If you liked A Gentleman In Moscow be sure to follow it up with A Train to Moscow.

A Train to Moscow: A Novel
  • Gorokhova, Elena (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 315 Pages - 03/01/2022 (Publication Date) - Lake Union Publishing (Publisher)

Leave a Comment