5 Books Like Turtles All the Way Down

If you recently read Turtles All the Way Down, and are looking for books similar to it, I got you covered. I will recommend 5 great books to read if you liked Turtles All the Way Down.

John Green is one of the most well-known young adult authors today. He cemented his dominance of the genre after his hit book The Fault in Our Stars. But his other books are also very good. One of the best books I read in 2021 was The Anthropocene Reviewed, which is a non-fiction book of essays.

You can watch my video review of The Anthropocene Reviewed on Youtube here. 

One great thing about Turtles All the Way Down is John Green openly discusses mental health, which is an issue he has personally dealt with in his life. I think there is a similarity between all of John Green’s fiction books, so I will recommend his other books too below.

Without further ado, here is the list of books like Turtles All the Way Down.

Books Like Turtles All the Way Down

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars is John Green’s most popular book. It spawned a new genre of “sad teen books.” There is obviously more to his books than that, but in essence, these books deal with teenagers who don’t have the happiest life circumstances. The Fault in Our Stars book is about terminal cancer and a relationship that grows amid this diagnosis.

2. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

This book was marketed as The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park. It tells the story of a boy named Theodore Finch and a girl named Violet Markey. They both carry grief, pain, and thoughts of suicide. They meet each other when both are at their weakest, and began a relationship. This book was the Goodreads choice winner for 2015. It’s a great book to read after Turtles All the Way Down.

Sale
All the Bright Places
  • Niven, Jennifer (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 416 Pages - 09/13/2016 (Publication Date) - Ember (Publisher)

3. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas is a powerful, funny, frightening, and mostly eye-opening book about racial issues in America. The book, which was published in 2017, is about a young girl named Starr Carter who lives in Garden Heights, a fictional neighborhood that is predominantly poor and black. She attends a private school, which has the opposite demographics of where she lives, affluent and mostly white. Starr is thrust into the national spotlight after she is the sole witness in the killing of her black friend but a white police officer.

Sale
The Hate U Give: A Printz Honor Winner
  • The Hate U Give Hardcover – February 28, 2017
  • Hardcover Book
  • Thomas, Angie (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 464 Pages - 02/28/2017 (Publication Date) - Balzer + Bray (Publisher)

4. An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

If you follow John green, then you know who his brother Hank Green is. Together the brothers built a very successful YouTube channel called “The Vlogbrothers.” But that is not all, the brothers also built Crash Course on Youtube, as well as countless other projects. In fact, there is a whole website dedicated to projects Hank Green is working on and is called “Days Since Hank green Last Started A New thing”.

I recommend this book because many people become fans of the brothers, and if you like John Green the person, then you will probably like his brother’s first book An Absolutely Remarkable Thing.

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing: A Novel
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Hank Green (Author) - Kristen Sieh, Hank Green (Narrators)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 09/25/2018 (Publication Date) - Penguin Audio (Publisher)

5. Paper Towns by John Green

The last recommendation is another book by John Green. Paper Towns is about a girl named Margot who disappears. Her childhood sweetheart and neighbor begins to search for her. Another great John Green book

Sale
Paper Towns
  • Green, John (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 305 Pages - 09/22/2009 (Publication Date) - Penguin Books (Publisher)

Leave a Comment